National Productivity Council Programme

Publish Date : 18/06/2019

2 3

P.R.No:-26/2019                         Date :- 18.06.2019

Press Release

Ministry of Environment, Forests and Climate Change (MoEFCC, GoI) is conducting two days capacity building program on Six Waste Management Rules from 18thto 19th June 2019 to further the knowledge on six wastes.


The six waste types included in this rules are, Hazardous waste, Solid Waste, Electronics waste, Bio-medical waste, Plastic Waste and Construction and Demolition Waste. Experts from all over the country deliberated and shared knowledge on this issue. The Municipal Solid Waste (Management and Handling) Rules, 2000 have been revised as Solid Waste Management Rules (SWM), 2016 to incorporate urban agglomerations, census towns, notified industrial townships, places of pilgrims, religious and historic importance, etc. to avoid the problems now being faced in larger cities and urban areas due to rise in population and other factors.


Dr. T G Vinay, IAS, District Collector  Dindigul, Chief Guest who inaugurated the program stated Dindigul district comprising of 1 Corporation, 3 municipalities 24 town Panchayats and 306 Panchayats is the 12th largest urban agglomeration in Tamil Nadu with its economy constituting of agriculture, safety lock manufacturing, leather tanneries, textile spinning mills making them the major sources of income. This indicates that the district generates different types of wastes which need to be handled differently apart from municipal solid waste. Waste management includes collection, transport, treatement and disposal of waste. With waste management deals with different types of wastes, such industrial, biological, household etc, we need to have comprehensive approach for its safe disposal to avert adverse effects of waste on human health, environment, aesthetics.  The District Collector expressed happiness that MoEFCC has selected Dindigul among the 20 different cities across the country for conducting this program and opined that programs like these enable local administration to know the best practices followed in rest of our country   and customise them to meet local requirements so that the objectives of Swachh Bharat Mission are achieved. The Collector also expressed hope that, the capacity building program will go a long way to sensitize all stakeholders viz, officials of rural and urban local bodies to effectively implement waste management rules

Deputy Director General, National Productivity Council (NPC), Shri. K V R Raju has referred to the concept of Circular Economy and Resource Efficiency and its linkage with solid waste. He highlighted, when handled properly, waste can be a resource and if not they will contaminate both air and water bodies degrading environment and complicating the situation. As a productivity organisation, it is an endeavour to address problem at source rather than when the problem is created.


Other dignitaries stressed on the responsibility of waste generators to segregate waste into three categories, viz., wet, dry and hazardous waste and emphasised on polluter pays principle by implementing ‘User Fee’ to the waste collector and ‘Spot Fine’ for littering. They also deliberated upon the other types of waste, their handling, disposal practices and duties of various stakeholders, roles and responsibilities of local authorities and village panchayats of census towns and urban agglomerations. It has also deliberated and discussed about the means and importance of processing the solid waste generated in the form of refused derived fuels, composting etc.


The capacity building program was attended by the officials of Urban and Local bodies including  Corporation Commissioner Dindigul, Municipal Commissioners Palani, Oddanchatram and Kodaikanal, PD DRDA, A.D. Town Panchayat, A.D. Panchayat, Block Development Officers and Deputy BDOs, City Health Officers of concerned municipality, Health Inspectors, Health Supervisors, Sanitary Inspectors, Executive Officers of Town panchayats, Union Engineers / Assistant Engineers, Block Co-ordinators (Swachh Bharat Mission),